Local News

Panukalang Batas laban sa Terorismo, Ayaw nina Risa at Kiko?

Noong Pebrero 26, bumoto laban sa pagpapatibay ng ant-terrorism law ang opposition senators na sina Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan at Risa Hontiveros.

Ayon kina Hontiveros at Pangilinan, maaari daw maabuso ang nasabing batas at magamit laban samga kritiko at oposisyon.

“The prolonged detention is an impingement of rights and liberty. Why 14 days? If security officials and law enforcers are doing their job, why will it take them long to file a case? Or, is the practice of arrest and detain now, produce or invent evidence later still prevalent, as it was when opposition leader Jovy Salonga was arrested, detained, and charged in 1981? The current law is not perfect, and we, in Congress, should be working continuously to make it work for the people… The amendments, however, are worrisome and could make the Human Security Act an even worse tool for repression instead of an instrument for thwarting terrorists,” sabi ni Pangilinan.

“While all rights permit exceptions, I fear that certain provisions of the bill – specifically those allowing the preliminary proscription of suspected terrorist organizations prior to their being given an opportunity to be heard as well as those lowering the standard for warrantless arrest and detention – go too far and might lead to a number of pernicious consequences,” boladas naman ni Hontiveros.

Kung kontra sina Kiko at Risa sa naturang panukalang batas, todo-suporta naman dito si Senador Ronald “Bato” Dela Rosa.

“The enactment of this law will send a brave message to the world that we are in solidarity in the global fight against terrorism. I would like to extend my gratitude to our seasoned legislator and staunch ally against terror, Sen. Panfilo Lacson, for shepherding and ensuring the swift but very deliberate passage of this legislative measure,” paliwanag naman ni Senador Bato.

Sa huli ay 19 na senador ang bumoto para sa panukalang batas. Ang mga senador na ito ay sina Sonny Angara, Nancy Binay, Pia Cayetano, Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa, Grace Poe, Imee Marcos, Manuel “Lito” Lapid, Joel Villanueva, Cynthia Villar, Emmanuel “Manny” Pacquiao, Win Gatchalian, Christopher Lawrence “Bong” Go, Richard Gordon, Panfilo “Ping” Lacson, Bong Revilla, Francis “Tol” Tolentino, Minority Leader Franklin Drilon, Majority Leader Migz Zubiri at Senate President Vicente C. Sotto III

Source: CNN Philippines | Philippine Senate | Archive

Leave a Reply

Theme by Anders Norén